by RoyGBiv of Tokyophonic for Asian Pop Weekly’s 14th Anniversary Zine

With its 80s aesthetic, summer vibes, funky sounds, impossibly blue skies, and romantic vocals, Japanese city pop is experiencing a revival around the world. Highlighting young and independent artists, Tokyo ON’s Neo city pop series of DJ mixes is a modern take on city pop, and volume 6 is no different, seamlessly blending fresh interpretations of classics with new sounds and styles for people of all ages and nationalities to enjoy.

Track List

  1. Tokimeki Records – WINDY SUMMER (feat. Hikari)[Cover]
  2. Rinapon – Telephone Number [Cover]
  3. Junk Fujiyama – 雨上がりの街
  4. 崎谷健次郎 – 愛がくれるもの
  5. Five II Four featuring Natsu Summer – 七夕の夜、君に逢いたい
  6. Pyramid – ODORO! (feat. MIHO FUKUHARA)
  7. sucola – 敢えて感情論
  9. Keishi Tanaka – Let Me Feel It (feat. 関口シンゴ)
  10. 葛谷葉子 – Seaside Hotel
  11. Mellow Youth – Howling
  12. POP ART TOWN – 君と水槽とクジラ
  14. STY – ずるいなベイベー (feat. Zinee)
  15. LUA – Don’t Stop the DOKKYUN!!
  16. Sijima – Never Ending Story
  17. MONARI WAKITA – やさしい嘘
  19. マハラージャン – 波際のハチ公
  20. ボタニカルな暮らし。 – City Girl
  21. アンニュイ・ホリデイ – スウィートインスピレーション (feat. 仮谷せいら)

About Tokyo ON

With a focus on independent and upcoming Japanese musicians, Tokyo ON is your source for the sounds of the World’s Greatest Metropolis. Discover the latest in Japanese culture and music through podcasts, reviews, DJ mixes, and exclusive interviews with artists, presented in English for listeners around the world.

Check out the site here.